ESSO - Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services

(An Autonomous Body under the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India)

Global Ocean Observing System in the Indian Ocean - IOGOOS

IOGOOS Secretary

IOGOOS was formally established on November 5, 2002. 19 organizations from 10 countries have become Members of IOGOOS and agreed to collaborate and work together for the implementation of GOOS in the Indian Ocean and for promoting activities of common interest for the development of operational oceanography in the Indian Ocean region.

IOGOOS during its IX annual meeting has discussed and agreed on new Governance Structure of IOGOOS. It was agreed to have three IOGOOS Officers, including Chair of IOGOOS representing the Eastern Indian Ocean, Central Indian Ocean and Western Indian Ocean. Two additional officers / associate officers will be nominated from the IOGOOS Projects such as IORP and SIBER. In the new governance structure, the following are the present elected officers of IOGOOS.




Central Indian Ocean Dr. T. Srinivasa Kumar Chair
Eastern Indian Ocean Dr. Brett Molony Officer
Western Indian Ocean Dr. Faiza Al Yamani Officer
IOGOOS Project Representative Dr. Jenny Huggett Officer
IOGOOS Project Representative Dr. Juliet Hermes Officer
IOGOOS Secretariat Mr. M. Nagaraja Kumar Secretary

IOGOOS Annual Meeting-XIX
IOGOOS Annual Meeting-XVIII