Notification for the position of IOGOOS Chairman and Officers

Rules for Nomination of IOGOOS Chair / Officers:

- The Officers should be broadly representative of the regions of the Indian Ocean. viz. Central Indian Ocean, East Africa, Eastern Indian Ocean, Southern Africa and Indian Ocean Islands. Now the regions have been changed to Eastern Indian Ocean, Central Indian Ocean and Western Indian Ocean. And representatives from the IOGOOS Projects
- Officer shall serve in an individual capacity for a period of 2 years, up to a maximum of two terms. With the unanimous agreement of all members, in exceptional cases, an Officer can be extended for a further term of 2 years.
- If an Officer does not attend two consecutive Annual Meetings, the position of that Officer will be considered vacant and an election will be conducted for the position.
- If an Officer resigns, the position shall remain vacant until the next Annual Meeting. However, if the Chair is unable to serve, one of the Officers will be nominated by the Officers, to act as a Chair, till next Annual Meeting.
- IOGOOS Secretariat shall notify to all Members about the vacancies of the posts (Chair / Officers) and request nominations from members for the position of Chair of IOGOOS and for other Officers three months prior to the Annual Meeting.
- In the event of more nominations than vacant Officer Positions, an Election Return Officer, who is not a voting Member, shall be appointed, to oversee the election. Each member shall have a number of votes equal to the number of vacancies.

IOGOOS Chair and Officers: The following is the status of the Tenure of Chair and Officers of IOGOOS:

Term	2012-14	2014-16	2016-18	2018-20	Representation and present Role
Chair	Dr. Andreas Schiller	Dr. Andreas Schiller Completed three terms of 2 years	Vacant	Nominations are Invited	Eastern Indian Ocean IOGOOS Officer
Officer	Dr. Rezah Badal	Dr. Rezah Badal	Dr. Rezah Badal Completed three terms of 2 years	Nominations are invited	Western Indian Ocean IOGOOS Officer

Officer	Dissolved				
Officer	T. Srinivasa Kumar	T. Srinivasa Kumar	Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi	Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi	Central Indian Ocean
				Eligible for extension for the second term of 2 years	Chair, IOGOOS
				Nominations are Invited	
Officer	Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong	Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong	Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong	Nomination to be sent by SIBER	SIBER Representative
			Completed three terms of 2 years		IOGOOS Officer
Officer	Dr. Yukio Masumoto	Dr. Mike Mcphaden	Dr. Mike Mcphaden	Dr. Mike Mcphaden	IOP representative
				Eligible for extension for 2 years with unanimous agreement of all members.	IOGOOS Officer
				Nomination to be sent by IOP	

- The post is vacant since last term of two years
- Dr. S.S.C.Shenoi has served for one term of 2 years as Officer and he is eligible for the second term.
- Dr. Rezah Badal served three terms of two years and his post is vacant
- Dr. Somkiat Khokiattiwong has completed three terms of 2 years and his post is vacant Nominations has to be forwarded by SIBER.
- Dr. Mike McPhaden has served two terms of 2 years and hee is eligible for the third term if unanimously agreed by all. Nominations has to be forwarded by IOP.