Press Information Bureau Government of India Ministry of Mines

16-February-2012 19:10 IST

Smt. Meira Kumar Confers National Geoscience Awards-2010

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha Smt. Meira Kumar conferred "National Geoscience Awards-2010" to 43 Eminent Geoscientists, Mining Technologists at a function organized by the Ministry of Mines here today. The awards are given for outstanding contribution in the fields of mineral discovery and exploration, basic and applied geosciences and mining & allied disciplines.

Speaking on the occasion Smt. Meira Kumar said that Global warming and climate change have emerged as major challenges which are required to be addressed on priority. She also said the demand for all natural resources including minerals, water and energy has grown exponentially with sharp focus on locating new assets and developing those that have remain un utilized. She further added that policy and decision makers must encourage geo scientific information, knowledge and strive to mainstream these measure into developmental plans and programmes.

Smt. Meira Kumar also emphasised that for sustainable development, we must delve into our traditional knowledge systems in mineral exploration, mining and water recharge and identify alternative sources of energy like solar energy, wind energy, hydropower, geothermal power, tidal energy and bio-mass energy from urban and agricultural wastes. She said we have to encourage use of indigenous and environmentally sound technologies.

The Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Mines, Shri Dinsha J. Patel outlined various policy interventions to create a congenial atmosphere for overall growth of the mineral and mining sector. He said that National Mineral Policy 2008 is a comprehensive exercise in that direction which has laid contours for the future development of Mining and Mineral Industry in India. Shri Patel also said that there is an urgent need to redefine offshore and onshore exploration strategies for locating deep-seated mineral deposit by deploying state of art techniques available all over the world.

Shri Patel said that the Geoscientists have to play a key role in discovering new locales of minerals and intensifying their exploration activities for mineral occurrences for converting them into viable economic resources which can be utilized by the indigenous industries. "Most mining areas lie in environmentally fragile and backward areas and its development needs special emphasis because of technical, financial and organisational problems" the Minister pointed out.

The Minister congratulated the Award winners and said that those who have been recognized today are only a reflection of our prowess in this sector. He particularly congratulated Prof. C. Leelanandam who received the National Geoscience Award for Excellence-2010 this year for his lifetime achievements in geosciences. On this occasion an amount of Rs. 5,00,000 /- have been awarded to "National Geoscience Award For Excellence -2010", Rs. 2,00,000/- to each in Individual category, Rs. 60,000/- to each member of the Team award and Rs. 50,000 has been awarded to Young Research Award category.

SKS

The list of Awardees along with their field of specialisation is given below.

National Geoscience Awards for Excellence - 2010

Prof. C. Leelanandam Emeritus Scientist

National Geoscience Awardees - 2010

S.No.	Awardees	Field	Organization
1.	Shri Narendra Kumar Kavdia	Mineral Discovery	Hindustan Zinc Limited
2.	Dr. Prabhakar S. Sangurmath	Mineral Discovery	Hutti Gold Mines Limited
3.	Shri Prem Ballabh Maithani	Mineral Discovery	Atomic Mineral Division, Hyderabad
4.	Shri Mohan Babu Verma	Mineral Discovery	Atomic Mineral Division
5.	Shri Prakhar Kumar	Mineral Discovery	Atomic Mineral Division
6.	Shri Perakalapudi Nageswara Rao	Mineral Discovery	Atomic Mineral Division
7.	Dr. Malayath Aravindakshan Atmanand	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology , Chennai
8.	Dr. G.A. Ramadass	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
9.	Dr. Sethuraman Ramesh	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
10.	Shri Joseph Manecius Selvakumar	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
11.	Shri Annamalai Subramanian	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
12.	Dr. Dharmaraj Sathianarayanan	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
13.	Shri Raju Ramesh	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
14.	Shri Gopalkrishnan Harikrishnan	Oil & Natural Gas Exploration	National Institute of Ocean Technology
15.	Dr. Dipankar Saha	Groundwater Exploration	Central Ground Water Board
16.	Dr. Kalendra Bahadur Singh	Mining Technology	CIMFR, Dhanbad
17.	Dr More Ramulu	Mining Technology	CIMFR, Nagpur
18.	Dr. Manish Atmaprakash Mamtani	Basic Geosciences	IIT, Kharagpur
19.	Dr. Sarbani Patranabis Deb	Basic Geosciences	Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
20.	Dr. Hetu Chandrakant Sheth	Basic Geosciences	IIT, Bombay

21.	Dr. Ravi Prakash Srivastava	Applied Geophysics	National Geophysical Research Institute,
			Hyderabad
22.	Dr. Shalivahan	Applied Geophysics	Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad
23.	Dr Navin Juyal	Geo-Environmental Studies	Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad

	Dr. Transpole Cainings Village	Discotor	Indian National Contra
24.	Dr. Tummala Srinivasa Kumar	Disaster	Indian National Centre for Ocean Information
		Management	
			Services (INCOIS),
		-	Hyderabad
25.	Shri B. Ajay Kumar	Disaster	Indian National Centre
		Management	for Ocean Information
			Services (INCOIS),
			Hyderabad
26.	Shri B V Satyanarayana	Disaster	Indian National Centre
		Management	for Ocean Information
			Services (INCOIS),
			Hyderabad
27.	Shri Ch. Patanjali Kumar	Disaster	Indian National Centre
	-	Management	for Ocean Information
			Services (INCOIS),
			Hyderabad
28.	Shri G. Suresh	Disaster	India Meteorological
-0.		Management	Department, New Delhi
29.	Dr. M. V. Ramana Murthy	Disaster	National Institute of
<i>2)</i> .		Management	Ocean Technology,
		go	Chennai
30.	Ms M.V. Sunanda	Disaster	Indian National Centre
30.	W.V. Garlanda	Management	for Ocean Information
		Management	Services (INCOIS),
			Hyderabad
21	Shri Tata Sudhakar	Disaster	National Institute of
31.	Sili Tata Suuliakai		Ocean Technology,
		Management	Chennai
	D. D. Ashalatha	Occasion a manches 9	
32.	Dr. B. Ashalatha	Oceanography &	National Geophysical
		Marine Geology	Research Institute,
			Hyderabad
33.	Dr. Naresh Kumar Thakur	Oceanography &	National Geophysical
		Marine Geology	Research Institute,
			Hyderabad
34.	Dr Pasupuleti Prasada Rao	Oceanography &	National Geophysical
		Marine Geology	Research Institute,
			Hyderabad
35.	Dr. S. Rajan	Oceanography &	National Centre For
		Marine Geology	Antarctic and Ocean
			Research, Goa
36.	Dr. John Kurian P	Oceanography &	National Centre For
-		Marine Geology	Antarctic and Ocean
			Research, Goa
37.	Dr. Dhananjai Kumar Pandey	Oceanography &	National Centre For
~ · •		Marine Geology	Antarctic and Ocean
			Research, Goa
	Dr. A.K. Chaubey	Oceanography &	National Institute of
32		Marine Geology	Oceanography, Goa
38.		a	
38.			
	Dr KS Krishna		National Institute of
39.	Dr. K.S. Krishna	Oceanography & Marine Geology	National Institute of Oceanography, Goa

40.	Shri Gopal Chandra	Oceanography &	National Institute of
	Bhattacharya	Marine Geology	Oceanography, Goa
41.	Shri Rajesh Asthana	Geo-Scientific Expeditions & Antarctic Studies	Geological Survey of India

Young Researcher Award – 2010

Shri Yogesh Ray

Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology, Dehradun.